Nestled beneath the formidable George Washington Bridge, “Little Red” served as a beacon to ships navigating the Hudson River for 26 years between 1921 and 1947. Originally erected on Sandy Hook, New Jersey, in 1880, the light house became obsolete and was dismantled in 1917. Four years later bright red iron tower was reconstructed at 178th Street in Manhattan to improve navigation on the Hudson River.
May 20th, 2016
Viewed 439 Times - Last Visitor from New York, NY on 12/06/2023 at 5:16 PM